To remove content from Paligo, you can either:
Delete the content - It removes the content from your database (although it can be restored). To find out about deleting content, see Delete Content.
Move to trash - Places the content in the trash folder, where you can see it, but it is no longer a piece of "live" content that you can work with. You can restore it if needed, so that it becomes "live" content again.
Both approaches will remove the content, but there is an advantage to using Move to Trash - the trash folder is visible in the Content Manager, so you can easily see what content has been removed.
To move content to the Trash folder:
Find the topic or other component in the Content Manager, and then select its options menu ( ... ).
Select the Move to trash option.
You can move multiple components to the trash at once. Hold down Ctrl on Windows or Command ⌘ on Mac, and then select all of the components that you want to delete. Then select Move to trash from the options menu ( ... ).
If you place content in the Trash and later decide you need to move it back into your "live" content, you can restore it. Once restored, the content is available in the Content Manager.
In the Content Manager, open the Trash folder and find the component(s) that you want to restore.
Select the options menu ( ... ) for the component(s) and then select Put back.
The Put back option is only available if the folder that originally contained the trashed content still exists. If there is no Put back option, you can restore the component by dragging it from the trash into a folder in the Content Manager.
When you restore, Paligo turns the "trashed" component back into a "normal" component.
If you are sure that you do not want to keep the content in the trash folder, you can delete it by "emptying the trash". However, you cannot empty the trash if it contains content that has dependencies.
A dependency is when a topic or publication is used elsewhere, either as content reuse or as the target of a link. For example, if you have an "Introduction" topic in your trash, you cannot delete it if a "live" topic contains a link to it. The "live" topic is dependent on the topic in the trash, as its link will not work if the topic in the trash is permanently deleted.
To empty the trash:
In the Content Manager, open the Trash folder and find the components that you want to delete.
Select the options menu ( ... ) and then select Delete.
Paligo will check to see if the content follows the Rules for Emptying the Trash. If it does, Paligo will delete the content.
You can select multiple components at once. Hold down Ctrl on Windows or Command ⌘ on Mac, and select all of the components that you want to delete. Then select Delete from the options menu ( ... ).
You can move any component to the trash, even if that component is reused. But you will not be able to empty the trash if it contains components that have dependencies, such as:
If content in the trash has dependencies, but only to other content in the trash, then it can be deleted. Paligo will only stop a component from being deleted from the trash if it has a dependency to "live" content i.e. content that is not in the trash.
A topic that is reused in other topics that are not in the trash
A topic that is the target of links in other topics that are not in the trash
A publication that is reused in another publication
A publication that is the target of links in topics that are not in the trash.
To empty the trash, you must first deal with the dependencies. This may mean removing links to the topic or removing the topic from inside other topics. To find out more, see Find Where Content is Reused.